DIY: Lighted Lampshade Frame

Remember when I showed all my fab flea market finds a couple weeks ago? Well, one of my purchases was this seriously awesome lampshade frame.

I had quite a few ideas of what to do with this beauty, but landed on something that I’m quite pleased with.

One of my most favorite things about Christmas is Christmas lights. I love sitting in a dark living room with only the Christmas tree lit. Just thinking about it makes me feel warm and cozy. So, I thought to myself, “Why not have those warm fuzzies all year round?”

I called a couple places around town, but to my horror, all the Christmas lights were off the shelf. I’m not going to lie… I was really sad. I thought I would have to put this project on the back burner for an indefinite amount of time. However, my parents came to the rescue. I called my mom to see if they had boxed up and stored their Christmas lights and found out their outside lights were actually still on the front yard bushes! If you know my family…that’s crazy talk. My parents take down Christmas on Dec.26. Lucky for me they’ve been really busy this year. :)

My dad brought up a few strings of lights to Nashville and I got to work. It actually took a lot longer than I thought it would just to wrap lights around a frame, but after two attempts (the 1st was a failure because I realized that one string of lights was out a little too late) it was ready to hang.

I got our ladder all set up, climbed to the top wrung and hung this beauty from the ceiling in the corner of our living room.

You can now find me almost any night of the week reading by the soft glow of my new year-around Christmas lights.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY

2 responses to “DIY: Lighted Lampshade Frame

  1. how long were the strings you used? how did you attach the lights?

    • Dani

      hey savannah! i used two strings of christmas lights and i just wrapped them around the lamp shade frame until it was all covered. with the leftover string i hung it from the ceiling with a screw-in hook. hope yours turns out great!

Leave a Reply

