DIY: Goodwill Dress

I think you know by now my love for thrifting and DIY. Well, this weekend I joined both of my favorite pastimes in making my new summer staple…the DIY Dress.

I was browsing Goodwill looking for a dress I could try altering. I haven’t done altering before so I needed a really simple project to ease myself into. The sun must have been shining on me that day because I found the perfect one.

The tag said $7.99 and I was more than pleased with that price, but when I got the register I almost jumped back when the lady checking me out said, “That will be 99 cents.”

WHAT? REALLY?….OK!

Frumpy? Yes. There was no shape to this dress when you put it on. Just a giant triangle.

Awkward length? Yes. It hit right between my knees and ankles.

But there was definite potential.

All I needed to do was shorten it, hem it and add a belt at the waist to create a shape.

I’m probably going to be wearing this ALL summer long. Bring on the sun!

PS:
I just posted my blog on bloglovin’ if you’d like to follow it there.
Follow my blog with bloglovin
5 Comments

Filed under DIY

5 responses to “DIY: Goodwill Dress

  1. Cynthia

    Wow – amazing transformation! Very nice :)

  2. Love it! I mentioned you on the blog! :)

  3. Pingback: Fashion Forward: Hemming and Hawing |

  4. Eeek that’s so pretty! I’m always seeing dresses that I know would look great if revamped a little. I just wish I had the skills to do it! Lovely blog, glad I stumbled across it :) x

    • Dani

      thanks girl! it really doesn’t take too many skills. i barely know what i’m doing :) glad you dropped by.

Leave a Reply

