food in transition

I’m in the middle of move right now. And by middle I mean- haven’t found a new place and I’m staying with friends indefinitely. But before shacking up with my pals, I was at my place for a few days packing everything up. One big challenge I came across was how to eat a good meal even though most of my dishes and cookware were already boxed up. I was living with only one plate, one bowl, one cup, a cutting board, a baking sheet and a mixing bowl.

I have to admit, I mostly defaulted to Trader Joe’s freezer burritos and vegetable gyozas (so good!), but after a few meals like that my body was craving something fresh. I had some baguette left over from a dinner the night before so I went for one of my favorite easy meals- bruschetta.

The warm, crunchy bread and chilled, oil-soaked topping are my favorite proof that opposites attract. And during the summer, when the tomatoes are fresh and in season, this little meal is in constant rotation at my place.

Bruschetta:

  • 2 roma tomatoes
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • a couple basil leaves
  • mozzarella
  • baguette
  • olive oil
Slice and then brush the baguette with olive oil. Place in the oven at 350 degrees until golden brown. Dice all other ingredients and toss with olive oil. Let it sit for a few minutes to soak up the oil. Once the bread is ready, top with mixture and enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under Foodie

Leave a Reply

