it’s all about the squash

I’m just a sucker for fall produce.

Is it weird that all day before the farmers market I kept thinking about squash? What kind would I get this week? How would I prepare it? What colors would they be?

Yeah, it’s probably a little odd.

But I chock up my fascination with fall produce to the fact that I can buy almost a week’s worth of food at the farmers market for next to nothing. As pictured above, I brought home 2 sweet potatoes, an acorn squash, a spaghetti squash, a giant bunch of basil and 3 small decorative gourds for a mere $10.

I’m a small girl, so it doesn’t take much to fill me up. Each veggie, combined with a salad, is a complete meal for me. I’ll bake the sweet potatoes and roast the acorn squash, but I’m most excited for the spaghetti squash. I’ll roast it, shred the insides and toss with garlic, olive oil, parmesan and basil. -By the way, that basil was some of the most fragrant basil I’ve ever had. The wind blowing through my rolled down windows on the drive home carried the sweet basil aroma so heavily. It was overwhelmingly wonderful.

Simple foods. Simple recipes. Simply delicious.

What’s your favorite famers market pick up?

Leave a comment

Filed under Foodie

Leave a Reply

