blueberry preserve roll ups

Cooking doesn’t exactly come natural to me. I wish it did, but it doesn’t. Cooking for me is based on formulas and recipes. Baking on the other hand has a bit more breathing room.

Yes, baking is about precise flour measurements and oven temperatures, but within those confinements I find a little more freedom to experiment.

So when I had leftover pie dough it was just a matter of looking through the rest of fridge to see what could be.

I found some blueberry preserves and got to work.

After rolling out the dough, I cut it into triangles, put a spoon full of the preserves on the larger end and rolled them up. I coated the rolls with an egg wash and generously sprinkled them with a cinnamon and sugar mix on top.

Bake at 425 for 13ish minutes…or until the tops are golden brown.

As the preserves oozed out on to the pan in the oven, the blueberries caramelized and filled the kitchen with a sweet aroma. Delicious!

The lesson I learned? Never throw out your leftover dough. Give it a chance to be something completely new to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Foodie

Leave a Reply

